Nashoba Brooks School proudly celebrates the unique character of its community and its history. The School’s distinctive structure — a co-ed Preschool through Grade 3 and an all-girls Grades 4 through 8 — has its roots in the founding, and eventual joining, of two distinct schools.
In 1928, distinguished educator Gladys Brooks founded The Brooks School of Concord as part of her ongoing commitment to early childhood education. Thirty years later in 1958, Nashoba Country Day School was established when Concord Academy, then an all-girls school, discontinued its middle school program. The Brooks School of Concord and Nashoba Country Day continued to grow until 1980 when the schools merged to form Nashoba Brooks School of Concord at its current location on Strawberry Hill Road. The merger allowed for expanded facilities, invigorated community, and establishment of a rich, sequential curriculum that built and deepened across grade levels.
Nashoba Brooks School has continued to honor the founding vision of Gladys Brooks and has grown and flourished over time, increasing the students served from 50 to nearly 300 and expanding its physical facilities and programming with the goal of creating an immersive, inclusive, and inspiring educational haven. The School has undertaken four significant builds in the past 20 years; the most recent in 2012 brought increases to classroom sizes and the installation of campus-wide mobile wireless technology. In 2015, we inaugurated a new School entrance and admission office suite.
Today, Nashoba Brooks stands firmly as one school, a steadfast community united behind its mission to model and cultivate integrity, empathy, resilience, and personal excellence in each unique child.